My new book

Handbag and Wellies Yoga ClubThe Handbag and Wellies Yoga Club is the story of the year in which I moved from a tiny London flat to a Norfolk farmhouse; I was in love and hoping to fill my time making jam and babies.

The book is about the search for the things that really matter to us all – love, friendship and the quest for a family of one’s own – exploring the choices that we make along the way, and what happens when life doesn’t go according to plan.

There are now only two weeks to go before the launch. I am feeling excited – at long last the book will be out there – and I am feeling nervous – what will be the response? We’re beginning to get some feedback from the media; Sarah Bennie, Caroline Craig and Katie Johnson have been a crack team on this project – if there was an Oscar for Best Publicity it would go to them. Katie has got me blogging, Twittering and Facebooking and I’ve done interviews with, amongst others, Psychologies, 4FM and the BBC, and I have written for Yoga and Health magazine.

The Daily Mail picked up on the ‘fertility over forty’ angle of the book.

The article attracted over 100 comments – clearly this issue, trying to get pregnant later in life, is an emotive subject and I am hoping that when the book is published it will generate further debate. One of my main reasons for writing the book was to tell younger women not to be seduced by stories of stars giving birth at 45 or by IVF myths – the truth is that many older mums are using donated eggs and not letting on. The chances of getting pregnant at forty using IVF are 10%, decreasing to 4% at 44. So, for the generation of career girls behind me I would say don’t wait – you may look great but you can’t put Oil of Olay Regenerist cream on your ovaries!

Never mind. I am over it now and have accepted where I am at – my husband is fantastic and I am glad that I waited to find him rather than getting married for the sake of it at thirty. OK, so things may not have turned out quite as planned – they never do – but I am happier now than I have ever been and in writing the book I wanted to inspire still single women to keep the faith – I am living proof that there are happy endings over forty!

Besides looking forward to seeing the book in the shops (I’ve just found out that WHSmith Travel is going to be stocking it) I cant wait for the launch parties – one at Jarrolds in Norwich on 13th August (please come along) and one in Beccles on the 19th. I am also working on a London date – watch my blog for further details.

I am hoping for much Pinot Grigio and hilarity, especially if Father Antony Sutch comes – the only man who has ever made me want to go to church. He married David and I last year; he was so funny, making jokes about his girth and not being ‘a natural yogi’, that a recently married Muslim woman said she would like to do her wedding all over again – with Father Antony presiding!

3 Responses to “My new book”

  1. yogaspy Says:

    I just discovered you and your books in the Yoga Dork blog. I’m eager to read your books.

    Until then,
    Yoga Spy
    http://www.yogaspy.wordpress.com

  2. magnumlady Says:

    Well done, I must get your book.

Leave a Reply

